College Competition Winners 2015

Engineering Prototyping Competition

The Prototyping Competition took place on December 1st, from 3-9 in the Saab ETIC Atrium on North Campus. There were three rounds, including an initial judging round, a public voting round, and the final judging round. The final judges for the competition were Bill Geary, partner at Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C., Chad Lafrance, Business Unit Manager at Texas Instruments Inc., Udi Laska, partner at REINS Management, Lynne Samuelson, Senior Scientist at U.S. Army Natick Soldier Center, Ram Sudireddy, Senior Vice President, IC Product Development at International Rectifier, and Marc Thomas, engineer at New Power India.

The winners from the competition are below:

DSC_3338 (2)

People’s Choice Award of $250 – EZ Removal
An automated snow removal system for solar panels.
Team Members: Hamid Mohseni (Renewable Solar Engineering, M.Sc.), Soma Hajian (Renewable Solar Engineering, M.Sc.), Norman Hallissey (Renewable Solar Engineering, M.Sc.), and Peyman Poozesh (Mechanical Engineering, Ph.D.).

DSC_3343 (2)

Third Place Award of $500 – invisaWear Technologies
A wearable safety device system connected to Bluetooth.
Team Members: Raymond Hamilton (Electrical Engineering) Rajia Abdelaziz (Electrical Engineering/Computer Science), and Erin Graceffa (Electrical Engineering)

DSC_3345 (2)

Second Place Award of $750 – SolHydrAir
An individual solar/wind/water turbine powered charger.
Team Members: William Tate (Mechanical Engineering), Sanjeev Mehta (Mechanical Engineering), Marcel Belperron (Mechanical Engineering), and Joseph Suy (Mechanical Engineering)

DSC_3349 (2)

First Place Award of $1,000 – Lorebooks
A Fanfiction website where authors can earn scholarships for their work.
Team Member: Alan Foster (Mechanical Engineering)

DSC_3340 (2)

Graduate Level Winner of $1,000 – Top-A-Can
A product to help safely dispose of tobacco products.
Team Members: Justin Lozier (Mechanical Engineering), Jonathan Benefiel (Mechanical Engineering), and Wilmer Ventura (Business)



DCU/MSB Innovation Contest

Digital Federal Credit Union and the Manning School of Business partnered with DifferenceMaker once again to put on this year’s Innovation Contest. The event was held on December 2nd, in the Saab ETIC Atrium on North Campus from 6-9PM. Interim Dean of the Manning School of Business welcomed the event’s attendees. The judges for the contest were Jim Regan, President and CEO of Digital Federal Credit Union, Bill Jacobson, CEO of Workbar, and Leticia Porter, Director of Graduate Programs at the Manning School of Business.

Bank PR

First Place Award of $500 per team member – Jonny and David, Banking BR
A mobile application that allows users to track, manage, and monitor their spending.
Team Members: Jonathan Burgin and David Rocca

Lets Talk Money

Second Place Award of $250 per team member – Let’s Talk Money
A podcast that teaches listeners the basics of managing personal finances.
Team Members: Kreg Kaminski, Kevin Kwiatek, and Peter Larsen



FAHSS Creative Venture Competition

The FAHSS Creative Venture Competition took place on December 4th, at O’Leary Library Auditorium. The judges for the contest were Glenn Morgan, co-owner and a partner at Skyworld Interactive, John J. Ford III, the principal and owner of JF3 Consulting, and Danielle McFadden, the CEO of the Greater Lowell Chamber of Commerce.

Girls Get Going

First Place Award of $5,000 – Get Girls Going
A program to empower teenage girls through mentorship, education, and wellness.
Team Members: Nana Younge (Plastics Engineering) and Matilda Matovu (Political Science and Biology)

Finalists Awards of $250 per team: 

The 104

The 104 Ticket
A low-cost, highly user-friendly subscription ticket service that delivers high quality live classical music access and experiences on a reliable basis.
Team Member: Nicholas Quigley (Music Business)


An online-based service that allows students to trade, rent, and donate textbooks.
Team Members: Brittany Morris (Business, MIS), Christopher Tribu (Business Marketing), Daniel Santos (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science), and Nina Petropoulos (English)

AM Women Magazine

AM Women Magazine
An online lifestyle, fashion magazine for American Muslim women.
Team Members: Ayah Awadaliah (English) and Sherin Aygun (Psychology)

BMX Our Heroin

BMX-Out Heroin
A program that will provide bus/train tickets to use to transport candidates for substance treatment to existing help facilities in the area.
Team Members: Patty Burris (Legal Studies and Writing), Emily Catanzano (Education and Psychology), and Hannah Judkins (Environmental Studies and Gender Studies)